Transcription and voice APIs with free hours or credits. 6 providers, each with the free-tier text from its official pricing page and the date we checked it.
Deepgram
Checked on 17 Oct 2026Free tier: Free $200 credit, no credit card required, no expiration stated ("No minimums. No expiration."), then pay-as-you-go.
- Auth: API key (Token)
- Serving public users: Yes.
- Note: STT, TTS and voice agent APIs share the credit.
- Source: deepgram.com
AssemblyAI
Checked on 17 Oct 2026Free tier: Free tier, no credit card: up to 185 hours of pre-recorded transcription and up to 333 hours of streaming transcription.
ElevenLabs API
Checked on 17 Oct 2026Free tier: Free plan: 10,000 characters/month included (~10 minutes of TTS).
- Auth: API key (xi-api-key)
- Serving public users: Unknown on this page (check free-plan licence).
- Note: Commercial-use/attribution terms for the free plan are not stated on this page: unknown.
- Source: elevenlabs.io
Gladia
Checked on 17 Oct 2026Free tier: Start with €50 free credits (self-serve async and real-time STT).
- Auth: API key (x-gladia-key)
- Serving public users: Yes.
- Source: www.gladia.io
Speechmatics
Checked on 17 Oct 2026Free tier: Start free with $100 in credits, no card required; real-time free accounts limited to 2 concurrent sessions; TTS: first 1 million characters free (~20 hours).
Groq Whisper (speech-to-text)
Checked on 17 Oct 2026Free tier: Part of Groq free plan: whisper-large-v3 and whisper-large-v3-turbo at 20 RPM, 2K RPD, 7,200 audio-seconds/hour, 28,800 audio-seconds/day.
- Auth: API key (Bearer), OpenAI-compatible /audio/transcriptions
- Serving public users: See Groq API.
- Note: Same key/account as Groq LLM API.
- Source: console.groq.com
Each free tier was read from the provider’s official pricing or limits page on 17 Oct 2026 and is linked as the source. Anything the page does not state is written as unknown. Free tiers change often, so confirm before you build on one.